The Presbytery of Ardrossan

The Presbytery is responsible for 28 congregations in the Cunninghame district of North Ayrshire, stretching from Largs in the north to Kilwinning in the south and from the islands of Arran and Great Cumbrae in the west to Beith in the east. Presbyteries are the second highest ecclesiastical court authorised under Acts of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.
The Presbytery comprises the ministers and representative elders from the congregations in its area. There are also elders (called "additional elders") chosen by the Presbytery to make sure that retired and specialist ministers entitled to membership of the Court do not cause ministers to outnumber the elders in its membership. Some of the Presbytery business is the routine administration of the church. It also approves the movement of ministers in and out of congregations, and ordains them when they are called to parishes for the first time. The Presbytery is additionally a Court of Appeal from Kirk Sessions. Once a year it elects commissioners to the General Assembly. The Presbytery generally meets monthly within Kirkgate Parish Church, Saltcoats and additionally for special purposes. Full details are listed in the meetings section.